01723 512354
Filey School logo
Ebor Academy Trust Logo

Check your child’s Snapchat location settings

Snap Map location settings

If you and a friend have both added each other on Snapchat, you can choose to share your locations with each other on the Snap Map 🗺️

Your location on the Snap Map only updates when you have Snapchat open – so you don’t have to worry about your location being updated in the background or anything 📵

Your location on the Map will expire after several hours, or if you go into Ghost Mode 👻 If you tap a friend’s Bitmoji, it’ll show you how long it’s been since their location was last updated!

Location Sharing Options
When you open the Snap Map for the first time, you’ll get a prompt to choose who you’d like to share your location with. Whatever you choose, you’ll be able to update this setting at any time!

  • Only Me (Ghost Mode): your location won’t be visible to anyone else on the Map! When you’re in Ghost Mode, your Bitmoji will hold up a blue sign with a 👻 icon.
  • Select Friends …: choose specific friends to share your location with! Friends you select aren’t notified when you choose them. If a friend doesn’t appear on this list, it could be because they haven’t added you as a friend on Snapchat.
  • My Friends: your location will be shared with all of your friends – including friends you add in the future! This option doesn’t include people who’ve added you as a friend but who you haven’t added back. If you choose this option, we’ll check in with you from time to time to make sure you still want to share your location with all of your friends.

To edit your location settings, just tap the ⚙️ button in the top-right corner of the Map screen! You can change who can see your location, or you can hide your location altogether by going into Ghost Mode 🙈

Warning 🚨 Snaps you submit to Our Story can still show up on the Map, no matter what location setting you choose!

 

About the Author

Leave a Reply

*